The Right Key

We have a door here at church that has a lock on it. That’s not surprising at all, we’ve got lots of them. The difference with this door is that in twenty-one years of working here I have never seen this door locked…until now.

IMG_0039

Education Day is coming up in September and we always give our third graders their very own Bible. So to get ready I went over to the Sunday School building because I needed eleven of these Bibles. When I went to go into the old office where they’re stored the door was locked. Hmmm? Where is that key? I looked in the janitor’s closet, the kitchenette, the new office. No luck. I asked the secretary if she knew where a key was. No, she didn’t. We called the janitor. He didn’t know. So then we started trying keys. You know how this goes, you have all those keys tucked away in your junk drawer that you don’t know what they go to, but you don’t want to throw them away because you’re sure they go to something important. I tried every one of them. No luck. I was starting to get a little desperate. I have a few tricks up my sleeve for breaking in so out came the butter knife and the hammer. Still no luck! I had to admit defeat and call a locksmith.

But the good news is that last night as we were singing a song during contemporary rehearsal the words struck me and this blog post came to mind. I thought of this passage from the book of Revelation:

Then I saw in the right hand of him who was seated on the throne a scroll written within and on the back, sealed with seven seals. And I saw a strong angel proclaiming with a loud voice, ‘‘Who is worthy to open the scroll and break its seals?’’ And no one in heaven or on earth or under the earth was able to open the scroll or to look into it, and I began to weep loudly because no one was found worthy to open the scroll or to look into it. And one of the elders said to me, ‘‘Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.’’

   And between the throne and the four living creatures and among the elders I saw a Lamb standing, as though it had been slain, with seven horns and with seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth. And he went and took the scroll from the right hand of him who was seated on the throne. And when he had taken the scroll, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb, each holding a harp, and golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints. And they sang a new song, saying, ‘‘Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals, for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation, and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God, and they shall reign on the earth.’’ (Revelation 5:1-10 ESV)

The parallel between the Sunday School door and this passage were just too rich. We’re often running around trying to unlock what has been sealed. We try every “key” at our disposal and if that doesn’t work we even try breaking in! What we really need is THE key.

IMG_0040

Maybe Jesus is the only one who still has a key for that old Sunday School door, but in the spiritual realm he is the ONLY key!

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Right Key

  1. Eda says:

    I’m glad that door is finally open! I hope you tried the key hanging in the hallway. I picked it up at antique store and hung it there just to befuddle people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

