How to Take it With You

This week I was fretting over a $55 purchase. It was a discounted price, but it was still in the category of having to spend money in order to save money. So my wife chimed in and started accusing me of maybe only being a dark grey belt tightwad and maybe not a true black belt tightwad. If you know me, then you know that hurt! Then she said that it would be $55 less that she could put in the casket with me. (She’s merciless, I tell you, merciless.) But that was when we came upon a way to take it with you and I’ll share that secret with you in a little bit.

I know what you’re thinking; this sounds like a scam! And maybe you’ve heard the saying that no one has ever seen a U-haul towed behind a hearse. Well here you go:

hearseuhaul011

I found it on the Internet so it must be true. Maybe they came upon the same secret that my wife and I discovered.

I know, I know, this is a devotional blog so maybe you’d quote passages like Ecclesiastes 2:22-26 to me:

What has a man from all the toil and striving of heart with which he toils beneath the sun? For all his days are full of sorrow, and his work is a vexation. Even in the night his heart does not rest. This also is vanity. There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God, for apart from him who can eat or who can have enjoyment? For to the one who pleases him God has given wisdom and knowledge and joy, but to the sinner he has given the business of gathering and collecting, only to give to one who pleases God. This also is vanity and a striving after wind. (ESV)

Or maybe Jesus’ famous words from Matthew 6:

‘‘Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. ‘‘The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! ‘‘No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money. (Mt 6:19-24 ESV)

However, I’m not talking about laying up treasures here on earth, I’m talking about taking them with you to heaven after you die. Many have tried to take it with them, like the pharaohs of Egypt or the Chinese emperors, but failed. To quote Switchfoot, “all the riches of kings end up in wills.”

image44

Okay, okay, I know you’re dying to know the secret. (pun intended) Here’s the plan that Cathy came up with: she said that when I die she’ll send all of what we’ve saved with me. Sure enough, she said she’d write me a check!

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

