One Generation Singing to Another

 

My phone binged just as early service was ending and I needed to high-tail it over to Sunday School. I looked at the notification and it said “Kelsey Perez tagged you in a post.” I wondered what she had posted but I didn’t have time to look at Facebook right at the moment.

When I did finally get time to look at her post, this is what I was greeted with:

 

http://stpaulcaro.org/education/video.html

Now this is not some “America’s Got Talent” video, or some Disney princess in a boat singing with her dad. Yet it’s some of the best music this side of heaven. Never mind that they cut out a good portion of the words, that Wyatt is strumming the guitar with the wrong hand, or even the guitar drop at the end.

Over and over scripture is filled with encouragements to sing to the Lord. For instance, the beginning of Psalm 149 says this:

Praise the LORD. Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the saints. Let Israel rejoice in their Maker; let the people of Zion be glad in their King. Let them praise his name with dancing and make music to him with tambourine and harp. For the LORD takes delight in his people; he crowns the humble with salvation. Let the saints rejoice in this honour and sing for joy on their beds. May the praise of God be in their mouths… (Psalm 149 1-6a NIV)

I say over and over that God is more concerned with the chords of your heart than he is with your vocal chords. I once knew a pastor that couldn’t sing anymore. The doctor told him that if he sang he would ruin his vocal chords and being a pastor he kind of needed those for preaching. His way of making a joyful noise was to whistle, so whenever we sang a song he followed right along with his whistling. Beautiful!

Even beyond encouraging us to sing, Paul commands us in Ephesians 5 to: “Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” (Ephesians 5: 19-20 NIV)

Watching this video makes me think of Psalm 145 where it says:

One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts. On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate. They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds, and I will declare your greatness. They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness and shall sing aloud of your righteousness. (Psalm 145: 4-7 ESV)

This particular family is literally living out this verse. Grandma Chris was raised in a Christian home and now sings in our contemporary band on Sunday mornings and is also very active with other ministries at our church. Along with Grandpa Dave they raised their daughter Kelsey in the faith. Kelsey was once in my confirmation classes, went on to be active throughout her high school years (I remember picking her and her twin sister up on many Tuesday mornings for our high school Tuesday Morning Bible Study). Now Kelsey is married to Aaron and together they are raising their children to love the Lord. Indeed, “One generation shall commend your works to another…”

241078_10100849997729554_8072115_o

It’s a little ironic that Kelsey actually thanked me. She said “Thank you for helping me teach my kids and others the word of God. It means a lot, keep up the good work!” Believe me, it is a complete joy to come alongside families like this! But really I think they’re the heroes of this story!

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

