Mad at the World

 

Yes, I’m mad at the world! And no, I don’t mean the Christian synthpop band from the late 80s. Actually I wanted to use another phrase but the grammar police say that the phrase I want to use is “slang, and is bad language, but not anywhere near as bad as the F word. It is becoming more acceptable today, but still should not be used anywhere where you’re trying to make a good impression.” So I’m left with “mad at the world.”

Mad_At_The_World_-_Flowers_In_The_Rain

You see, yesterday I had my monthly DCE meeting. No, I’m not mad at them-I love my DCE fellowship. However, in our conversation one of them mentioned that a noted Hollywood celebrity came out and said that he was glad he was seduced and lost his virginity when he was thirteen years old to a nineteen year-old camp counselor. Pedophilia here we come.

As bad as that comment was, about all I could say was “shame on him.” Somehow this “star” was using his “platform” and telling us all that it’s “okay.” What kept on going through my mind was a conversation I had with a grown adult who was sexually abused by their father at the age of twelve. That incident was so life altering and painful that this person’s spouse hadn’t even been told after over twenty years of marriage! And this person is far from alone! I’ve heard overwhelming statistics about youth that have been sexually abused. It’s not okay!

So, yes I’m mad at the world for distorting a proper view of sexuality. For trying to tell us that it’s okay for a grown man to be having sex with a young boy, or the million other ways that the world would distort sex. Sexuality is actually a good gift from God. When God first created Adam and Eve he said that it was “very good.” However, very quickly after that creation the devil came rushing in to distort this good creation and he’s been lying and distorting ever since.

Jesus painted an accurate picture of the devil when he said: “You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” (John 8:44 ESV) The devil would like to destroy marriages, he likes to see victims scattered everywhere, he laughs when Hollywood stars speak for him, and would even love to confuse people about simple male and femaleness.

But I’m not just mad at the world and the devil, I’m also mad at my own sinfulness. The times where I’ve misheard God’s clear word in my own life. Where I’ve listened to one of the devil’s lies. Jesus’ words in Matthew 5 convict me: ““You have heard that it was said, You shall not commit adultery.’ But I say to you that everyone who looks at a woman with lustful intent has already committed adultery with her in his heart. If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body be thrown into hell. And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body go into hell.” (27-30 ESV) We are all sexual beings, and we are also all sinners. Jesus’ words convict us all.

So what do I do with all of this anger? As a Christian, the first thing I do is run to the cross and ask God to forgive me of my own sin. That He would “cleanse me” as King David said in Psalm 51 (a psalm which he wrote after he had committed adultery with Bathsheba). Then I shall be “whiter than snow.”

1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. 2 Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. 3 For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. 4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight; so you are right in your verdict and justified when you judge. 5 Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. 6 Yet you desired faithfulness even in the womb; you taught me wisdom in that secret place. 7 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. (Psalm 51:1-7 NIV)

The second thing that I do as a Christian is bring reconciliation to the world. Wherever sin, the world, and the devil have caused division or brokenness, I seek reconciliation, healing and truth.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. (2 Corinthians 5:17-21 ESV)

To which Matthew Henry’s Commentary says:

“The renewed man acts upon new principles, by new rules, with new ends, and in new company. The believer is created anew; his heart is not merely set right, but a new heart is given him.”

A new heart which is still mad at the world, but at peace with God.

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 12.47.53 PM

(quilt by my talented wife!)

 

 

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mad at the World

  1. Erica Gaiser says:

    Love the quilt! It always has baffled me that people feel compelled to chop up perfectly good fabric, just to sew it back together again, but there’s no denying that the results are sometimes really quite stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

