Not By Sight (or is it?)

Did you see that wind yesterday?

I know that not everyone is local to me, so forgive me if you didn’t experience the same wind that we did here in Michigan, but believe me it was very windy! So, did you see the wind yesterday?

Technically, no, you did not see the wind yesterday. You saw the effects of the wind. At one point I looked out the back window of the house and I saw a huge dust cloud that was being blown up from the field across the road (like a dummy I didn’t close all of the windows and now we have a fine layer of dust in the house). It was a great day for drying clothes on the line, but boy did I see the effects of the wind as I hung clothes out to dry. It knocked part of a split rail fence down in the back yard, plus this morning when I came into church I was made aware that there was a huge limb that took out a power line behind church. There were all kinds of effects from the wind yesterday!

In the book of Acts, Luke describes the Holy Spirit as a mighty rushing wind.

When the day of Pentecost arrived, they were all together in one place. And suddenly there came from heaven a sound like a mighty rushing wind, and it filled the entire house where they were sitting. And divided tongues as of fire appeared to them and rested on each one of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit gave them utterance. (Acts 2:1-4 ESV)

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 11.33.01 AM

Have you ever seen the Holy Spirit?

I can’t specifically know your answer to that, but I’ll bet your answer is still “no.” I know that I have never physically seen the Holy Spirit. I know that there are times in the Bible where people specifically see God, but I don’t think that is the norm. And I also know that those who did see God were quite often terrified of the vision. For instance:

And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!” (Isaiah 6:5)

And Manoah said to his wife, “We shall surely die, for we have seen God.” But his wife said to him, “If the Lord had meant to kill us, he would not have accepted a burnt offering and a grain offering at our hands, or shown us all these things, or now announced to us such things as these.” (Judges 13:22-23)

And Manoah said to his wife, “We shall surely die, for we have seen God.” But his wife said to him, “If the Lord had meant to kill us, he would not have accepted a burnt offering and a grain offering at our hands, or shown us all these things, or now announced to us such things as these.” (Exodus 33:18-23)

Even if you’re like me and you’ve never physically seen the Holy Spirit, I’ll bet you have seen the effects of the Holy Spirit. Here is a short list of Holy Spirit effects that I’ve seen:

-sinners who are called to repentance and respond

-God’s grace being lived out on a daily basis and in very specific ways

-forgiveness being granted to others

-tears shed for a myriad of Holy Spirit inspired reasons

-healing in the physical realm, the emotional realm, and in the spiritual realm

-Godly comfort in the time of grief, after trauma, in the time of sickness, and for those who are dealing with past abuse

-guidance for decisions that have to be made, and in life paths

-etcetera

These are all examples of the Holy Spirit’s working. They are also perfect examples, to borrow from Dr. Luther, of “I cannot by my own reason or strength.”

I would love to have you share ways that you have seen the Holy Spirit work in your own life.

06798da585100dd496568bb2288747d9

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

