Sucking Heat

Although it’s supposed to be in the 90s this weekend with lows only in the upper 60s, the other night it got down to 42 degrees. My wife and I have an ongoing difference of opinion about leaving the windows open in the bedroom. I think my wife would leave the windows open year-round if I let her. Two nights ago the windows were open and I woke up in the wee hours of the night freezing. To quote my good friend Al, “if you’re cold, put a hat on.” That’s too much work in the middle of the night, so instead, I slid over in bed and put my back right against my warm wife. All was once again right with the world and after quickly warming up I drifted back to sleep.

Believe it or not, the Bible talks about this. It says:

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken. (Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 ESV)

Solomon wrote those words. I wonder if he was thinking of marriage when he wrote those words, because he had 300 wives and 700 concubines. Regardless, I only have one wife (the way God intended it) and so Solomon’s words speak very well of marriage. Matter of fact, I’ve heard these verses often used at weddings. Solomon uses very common examples like being cold in bed to teach a deeper truth. But why does he end the way he does with the words “a threefold cord is not quickly broken?” He was just talking about two, and then he switches to three. Well, let’s take a look at a threefold cord:

Rope-600x300

What do you see? I looks like two, doesn’t it? Yet there are three cords.

6527-a-frayed-end-of-rope-isolated-on-a-white-background-pv

So what is the third cord? I truly believe it is God himself. When you take two sinful human beings the struggles of life tend to weaken a marriage. When you add God in the mix it changes everything. I’m not saying that a Christian couple never gets a divorce, but it has been shown that it is less likely. One secular website that talks about divorce risk factors put it this way:

  1. having different or no religious affiliations. Couples who share a similar religious faith often find that it increases their bond and gives them strength and guidance through difficult times. Couples without any religious affiliation don’t have that resource. And couples with quite different religious beliefs may find that to be something that divides them. It’s an important area of their lives that they don’t share. (http://www.landphaircounseling.com/risk-factors-for-divorce/)

Jesus put it this way:

He answered, “Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female, and said, ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.” (Matthew 19:4-6 ESV)

Cathy and I will celebrate thirty years of marriage this September. We don’t have a perfect marriage (as if anyone does) but knowing we are there for each other, and that God is in the midst of our marriage helps me sleep better whether the windows are open or not.

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

