The Things That I Have Seen

We just finished our Vacation Bible School at our church this past week. That means that it have been a week filled with amazing fun, tons of kids running around the church, decorations, Bible lessons, music, crafts, games, snacks, mission projects, and an opportunity to rub shoulders with some amazing volunteers.

Let me tell you (and show you) what I have seen this past week.

I saw Justice share her awesome artistic talent with us, not just the week of VBS but also almost singlehandedly painted our city skyline from around the world.

IMG_2894

I saw adults excitedly greeting kids at the front door of the church as they showed up each morning. Giving them high-fives, calming any jittery nerves in the really young ones, and being a smiling face first thing in the morning.

IMG_2892

I saw Rachel and Hannah singing with the kids, leading them in actions for hours on end, laughing with the kids, and even being willing to paint their faces red for the sake of the skit.

20374468_10213644398883710_8764560162724499283_n

I watched through the glass of the fellowship hall as Jacki led the kids in a Bible story in her makeshift “airplane.” She was smiling and animated as she shared her love for her Lord with the children.

IMG_2849

Then there was Eric and his granddaughter who had to know the dates for VBS months in advance so they could make sure they reserved the dates on their calendar. Malia was so excited because this year she was finally old enough to be a helper!

IMG_2867

I enjoyed my break time in the kitchen as the kitchen ladies shared numerous tasty treats with me. But maybe even better than the snacks were the laughs that we had!

IMG_2865.jpg

I saw a school of Fisch (pun intended) in the craft room turning old soup cans into colorful wind catchers, plus a ton of other creative craft ideas.

IMG_2854

We had youth leading games, ladies who handled registration, and our energetic class leaders.

IMG_2876

And last, but not least, I can’t forget our dedicated leader, Jody, who lives and breathes VBS. Before this year was even over she was already looking up what next year’s theme will be and talking through possibilities for decorations.

IMG_2886

Psalm 100 says that we are to “Serve the Lord with gladness!” That’s what I saw this week!

 

 

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

