Happy Parent’s Day

Tomorrow I have a triathlon over in South Haven. I chose this race partly because the swim is in Lake Michigan, part because it’s near some of my old stomping grounds and beaches that I frequented in high school and college, but mainly because I also get to spend time with my parents before and after the race. During these couple of days together we’ve spent time fixing things around their house, going out to dinner, touring the shop where my dad works, but mainly just hanging out shooting the breeze.

12144842_10208173224752610_2295436467391207455_n

The Bible puts honoring parents extremely high. Matter of fact, it doesn’t pull any punches:

And since they (the unrighteous) did not see fit to acknowledge God, God gave them up to a debased mind to do what ought not to be done. They were filled with all manner of unrighteousness, evil, covetousness, malice. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, maliciousness. They are gossips, slanderers, haters of God, insolent, haughty, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents, foolish, faithless, heartless, ruthless. (Romans 1:28-31 ESV italics mine)

But if a widow has children or grandchildren, let them first learn to show godliness to their own household and to make some return to their parents, for this is pleasing in the sight of God…But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.(1 Timothy 5:4, 8 ESV)

Luther had this to say about the fourth commandment:

Honor your father and your mother.

What does this mean? We should fear and love God so that we do not despise or anger our parents and other authorities, but honor them, serve and obey them, love and cherish them. (Small Catechism)

I use the memorization technique of initialing to remember Luther’s meaning. It goes like this:

Don’t: DA (which is very convenient for me because it’s my dad’s initials). D=despise and A=anger.

Dos: SCHOoL (yes, I know it’s not in order and that one o is small, but it works very well to think, “to honor my parents I must go to school.”) S=serve, C=cherish, H=honor, O=obey, and L=love.

Paul encourages the Ephesians that: “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. ‘Honor your father and mother’ (this is the first commandment with a promise), “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.” (Ephesians 6:1-3 ESV)

Making the choice to be here with my parents was a good choice no matter how my triathlon goes tomorrow.

 

 

About gregarnett

"Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms." (1 Peter 4:10) I've been told that the above verse comes to mind when people think of me. I strive to use all of my gifts to God's glory in all the ways He's given me to serve. I serve him in my day job as a Director of Christian Education. I currently serve St. Paul Lutheran Church in Caro, Michigan. At St. Paul I am responsible for the ministry to and with youth, grades sixth-college, and the educational ministries of the congregation. I also lead the contemporary band, organize mission trips and Servant Events. Besides my day job I also am an entrepreneur that runs an Etsy online shop. Basically I make unique items out of wood and broken hockey sticks. You can find my Etsy shop here: www.etsy.com/shop/manland I have been married to Cathy since 1987. My grandpa joked on his 50th wedding anniversary: "that's a long time to be married to one woman!" They made it to 64 years, so Cathy and I are just starting! Together we have three children: Nathan, Ben and Emily. I like to play guitar, bass guitar, cigar box guitar and the djembe. I also enjoy woodworking, hunting, gardening, backpacking and participating in sports. Racing triathlons is my current sporting passion and mid-life crisis buster.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

